delete learned words

The default keyboard on your Android device learns new words and adapts to your writing style. This allows it to suggest words as you type. However, the keyboard also learns and saves misspelled words. To get rid of these misspelled words, you must delete learned words from your Android keyboard.

You might also want to delete learned words from your Android device’s keyboard if friends or family members sometimes use your device. When they type, they will see suggested words you’ve typed. If you don’t want to reveal what you’ve typed, you’ll want to clear this data from your device.

Google devices have a special option for deleting learned words from the keyboard, but most other devices do not. We’ll show you the method for Google devices and a method that will work on Samsung and LG devices, and other brands of Android devices.

Delete Learned Words From a Google Device

To delete learned words from your Google device, swipe down once from the top of the screen and tap the “Settings” (gear) icon.

Tap the Settings icon on a Google device

Next, tap “Languages & input“.

Tap Languages & input on a Google device

On the “Languages & input” screen, tap “Virtual keyboard“.

Tap Virtual keyboard on a Google device

Tap “Gboard“, which is now the default keyboard on Google devices.

Tap Gboard on a Google device

Tap “Dictionary” on the “Gboard keyboard settings” screen and then tap “Delete learned words“.

Tap Delete learned words on a Google device

A confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you want to delete learned words, since you cannot undo this operation. Enter the number on the dialog box and then tap “OK“.

Enter the number to continue deleting learned words on a Google device

Cleared” displays below “Delete learned words” when the learned words are deleted.

Learned words previously collected and saved on your device are now gone. However, the device will begin learning words and saving them again as you type. So, you will need to clear the data for your keyboard periodically, if you don’t want the data saved.

If you don’t want your device learning words and saving them, see the last section below.

Learned words cleared on a Google device

Clear Data & Cache On a Samsung or LG Device

Samsung and LG devices do not have the same dedicated setting to delete learned words as Google devices. However, there is a way to do the same thing that will work on Samsung and LG devices, and on other Android devices that do not have a dedicated setting to delete learned words.

We will show how to do this on a Samsung device, but the procedure is mostly the same with slight differences on other devices.

Swipe down once (or twice, depending on the device) from the top of the screen and tap the “Settings” (gear) icon.

Tap the Settings icon on a Samsung device

Tap “Apps” on the “Settings” screen and then tap the menu button (three vertical dots) at the top of the “Apps” screen.

Tap the menu button on the Apps Settings screen on a Samsung device

Tap “Show system apps” (“Show system” on LG devices) on the pop-up menu.

Tap Show system apps on a Samsung device

Next, tap “Samsung Keyboard“, or the name of the keyboard on your device, such as “LG Keyboard“.

Tap Samsung Keyboard

On the “App Info” screen for the keyboard, tap “Storage“.

Tap Storage in Settings on a Samsung device

Then, tap “Clear Data“.

Tap Clear Data for the Samsung Keyboard

A confirmation dialog box displays to be sure you want to delete all the data for the keyboard. Tap “Delete” to continue.

Delete data confirmation dialog box on a Samsung device

Clearing the data also clears the cache, so both buttons are grayed out once the data is cleared.

Learned words previously collected and saved by your device are gone. However, the device will begin learning words and saving them again as you type. So, you will need to clear the data for your keyboard periodically, if you don’t want the data saved.

If you don’t want your device learning words and saving them, see the next section.

Data cleared on a Samsung device

Prevent Learned Words From Being Saved Using SwiftKey

When you delete learned words from your Android device, the device learns words and saves them again. So, you must delete learned words periodically, if you don’t want them saved on your device.

If you’re deleting learned words because of security concerns, you might not want your device to learn words and save them at all. You can type in Incognito mode using the free SwiftKey Keyboard to prevent learned words from being saved on your device. This is useful when typing passwords or login information.

Install and set up the free SwiftKey Keyboard and set it as your default keyboard. Then, go into an app, such a browser or Notes, and activate the keyboard. Tap the menu button (three horizontal lines) in the upper-left corner of the keyboard.

Tap the menu button on the SwiftKey Keyboard

Then, tap “Incognito“.

Tap Incognito on the SwiftKey Keyboard settings screen

The first time you turn on Incognito mode on the SwiftKey Keyboard, you’ll see a message telling you that it’s on.

SwiftKey Incognito mode on

The SwiftKey Keyboard also shows that Incognito mode is on with a check mark on the Incognito icon on the keyboard’s setting screen.

SwiftKey Incognito mode checked

When Incognito mode is on, the keyboard turns black and the image of a mask displays.

SwiftKey Keyboard's Incognito mode

How does deleting learned words work on your device? Have you used any other keyboards that include a feature like SwiftKey’s Incognito mode? Let us know in the comments.

Lori Kaufman
Freelance technical writer living in the Sacramento, CA area. A gadget and tech geek who loves to write how-to articles about a wide range of topics. Loves watching and reading mysteries, cross stitching, attending musical theatre, and is an avid Doctor Who fan.