Site icon trendblog.net

How to Factory reset your M1 & M2 Macbooks, iMac and Air

factory reset m1 m2 macs

If you are a Mac user, you may know that in a couple of years, your device slows down. Now, in that case, you can factory reset your Mac. Factory reset includes deleting all your data and reinstalling a MacOS.

Whether you want to sell your Mac or troubleshoot it, you need to reset your device. Your Mac uses their silicon processor, either M1 or M2, instead of the Intel chip. You may not find any operational difference in regular use, but the steps to factory reset are different. If you’re a newbie Mac user, here is a step-by-step guide to factory reset your M1 & M2 Macs.

What to do before resetting M1 and M2 Mac

Create a backup for your confidential data

So, if you’re willing to factory reset your macOS, the first thing you should do is have a data backup. In factory reset, you will lose all your data, so save your confidential data in your backup.

Backup with iCloud

For backing up your data, there is software present in the market. You may use any Apple device to access your mac apps thanks to iCloud’s wireless synchronization. Follow the instructions properly to ensure a thorough, secure backup.

Sign out from every account

When you’re factory setting your Mac, be sure you have logged out from every account present. Even you must sign out from your iCloud account. You can always create those accounts in your new macOS.

How to factory reset the Macbooks

Once you’ve decided to clean your MacBook Air, follow these instructions to quickly and effectively do a factory reset.

How to reinstall your MacOs?

You may restart your MacBook Air by resetting and restoring your macOS. Using macOS Recovery mode is the quickest and simplest way to restore macOS. Here is a step-by-step tutorial to reinstall your MacOS after performing factory settings in your M1 and M2 MacBook.

Now, hopefully, you know how to perform a factory reset on your Mac. If you have recently bought your MacBook, save this article for future use.

FAQs
How do you erase M1 Mac before returning it?

Before returning your M1 Mac, you must erase all your confidential data. To do that:

Open your Dist utility> Choose internal disk > Name it Macintosh HD > Select the box “Erase Volume Group”; otherwise, select erase.

The steps are described in detail in the above structure.

How do I wipe my Mac and start fresh?

Select System Preferences from the Apple menu in the lower-right corner of your screen. Erase All Content and Settings may be selected from the System Preferences option in the menu bar

How do I reset my Macbook Pro M2 2022?

On a Mac lacking the Apple T2 Security Chip that runs the Intel chip, follow the simple steps to reset.

Shreya Sarkar

A tech enthusiast, who wants to use her knowledge to help others.
Exit mobile version