Back To Top

 How to Block a Number, Email, Or Contact on iPhone?

How to Block a Number, Email, Or Contact on iPhone?

How to block a number on an iPhone? Using the iPhone, you may avoid receiving unsolicited calls. 

  • Unwanted calls can be avoided by banning specific individuals and routing unknown and spam callers to voicemail.
  • Block particular people’s voice calls, FaceTime calls, and messages.
  • Do one of the following in the Phone app.
  • Select Favorites, Recents, or Voicemail from the drop-down menu. Scroll down and tap Block this Caller next to the number or contact you want to block.
  • Scroll down to Block this Caller, then tap Contacts, tap the contact you wish to block, and then tap Block this Caller.
  • Manage the people you’ve blocked.
  • Blocked Contacts can be found in Settings > Phone > Blocked Contacts.
  • Select Edit.

how to block a number on iphone

How to block a number on iPhone?

Go to Settings > Phone and select one of the options:

Silence Callers Who Are Unknown: Calls from persons in your contacts, recent outgoing calls, and Siri Suggestions are all notified. Blocking and Identifying Calls: To stop calls detected by your carrier as suspected spam or fraud, turn on Silence Junk Callers (available with some carriers).

It’s exhausting to deal with nonstop calls and messages from solicitors, marketers, ex-lovers, or local businesses, but you don’t have to. You can block a phone number or email address from receiving notifications with only a few taps on your iPhone’s screen. What’s the best part? After you’ve banned that call or email, the individual you’ve blocked will have no idea you did it.

I’ve used the iPhone’s built-in function to filter robocalls that kept coming in despite the fact that I had set up multiple apps and services to block them. I also banned a local vehicle dealership that began calling me once a week to double-check on a car I no longer owned, despite my repeated assurances. Those calls are no longer received.

Here’s how to stop receiving unsolicited calls and messages for good. For step-by-step instructions on banning callers and contacts on your iPhone, see the video at the top of the page.

A Phone Number, Email Address, or Contact can be Blocked

Blocking someone can be done in four separate apps, each with its own set of instructions. You won’t have to repeat the step to block the same phone number or email address from all of the apps. If you ban someone in one app, they’ll be blocked in the next four apps as well.

Phone: In the Recents tab, locate the phone number or contact you want to block, then tap the I button next to the option. At the bottom of the screen, select Block This Caller and confirm your decision.

how to block a number on iphone

FaceTime

To ban a contact, phone number, or email address, tap the I next to it. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and press Block This Caller to confirm your decision. how to block a number on iPhone

Open the discussion and tap on the contact at the top of the screen to send a message. Then press on the name, phone number, or email address after selecting the “i.” A Block this Caller button will appear at the bottom of the page; tap it and confirm.

Open the message with the person you want to block, tap the email address you want to block, and then select Block this Contact.

If you use Gmail or Outlook instead of Apple’s Mail, blocking someone in Mail will have no effect on their messages showing up in your inbox.

What happens when you put someone on hold?

Incoming calls will go to voicemail if someone is blocked in FaceTime, Messages, or the Phone app. They can even leave you a message that appears in the Phone app’s Voicemail area but is buried in the Blocked Messages section.

Messages or FaceTime calls will not appear on your Apple devices, and the person you banned will not be notified or informed. They’ll get the sense that you’re not paying attention to them.

When you block someone in the Mail app, their communications will be sent to the trash bin for that email account. View or remove someone from your block list.

Robocalls

If you change your mind and wish to remove someone from your block list. Go to the Settings app and select Phone, FaceTime, and Messages. Or Mail from the drop-down menu. Blocked Contacts will be available in the first three options. While Blocked will be available in Mail. how to block a number on iPhone.

When you identify the person you want to unblock, swipe to the left across their listed name, regardless of which settings page you’re on.

Your blocked list is consistent across Phone, FaceTime Mail, and Messages, so you don’t have to go into each app to remove a contact. You can remove someone from Messages, FaceTime, and Mail by removing them from the Phone settings page (or vice versa).

Learn how to block most robocalls from reaching your phone after you’ve gotten rid of unwanted texts and callers. You can also take it to the next level and turn off all incoming calls from unknown numbers. With iOS 14, Verizon has already added capability for call blocking, so maybe more carriers will follow suit before the autumn release.

how to block a number on iphone

Also read: 

Reset Airpods Within Minutes: Reasons Why Airpods Won’t Reset Properly

Restore Whatsapp Backup Using 3 Effective Ways

How to Make Changes to a Pdf Using 7 Different Ways

Differnt Ways to Hide Apps on iPhone

FAQS

Q1: Why can’t you ban a phone number on your iPhone?

You might be asking why the iPhone app doesn’t allow you to ban unknown or unidentified numbers. Unfortunately, the iPhone operating system currently does not allow for the blocking of unknown numbers. We will integrate this feature if Apple changes its mind in the future.

 

Q2: Can you know if you’ve blocked someone’s phone number?

When you block a phone number or contact. They can still call you and leave a voicemail, but you will not receive a notification. Neither sent nor received messages will be delivered. Additionally, the contact will not be notified that the call or message has been blocked.

 

Q3: Can I send a text message if I’m blocked?

When someone you’ve blocked texts you, their messages aren’t sent. They won’t be notified that they’ve been blocked, and their communications will appear to have been sent. However, you will not get any of them and will be unable to answer.

Q4: How can I know if someone on my iPhone has blocked me?

Before you assume you’ve been blocked, look beneath the last text you sent. It’s possible that you’ve been barred if the previous iMessage says “Delivered” under the message bubble but the most recent one doesn’t. If you instead get an iMessage Not Delivered error, that could be another sign.

 

Jennie Marquez

Jennie Marquez

Jennie B. Marquez is a TV presenter, writer, and video producer. Also, Khaleesi, despite the fact that she does not legally control any land, army, or dragons. Yet.
Prev Post

Different Ways to Hide Apps on iPhone

Next Post

How to Activate Facetime on Calls, Speaker, Message: Get Rid of Warnings

post-bars

Leave a Comment