Ever since there was a story about the Facebook data breach and selling information, many people considered having a Facebook account. Even if you are not worried about your data security, you might want to delete your account permanently. Simply, you might not be happy with the social platform, or it became useless. Or, it could happen that you’ve lost your iPhone and want to delete all the social media and block access to anyone who might have taken your device. Also, Facebook was not so happy with the new iOS 14 and its feature to block tracking across services. Regardless of the reason, you need a way to delete your Facebook account quickly.
In this short guide, I will show you how to delete a Facebook account if you have an iPhone.
Delete Facebook using iPhone’s browser
In case you’ve never downloaded the Facebook app and have been using your Internet browser to access your account, you can now use this same browser to delete the account. Before deleting an account, think if you wish to save some things you have over there. For example, you might want to keep your photos. Facebook published a handy guide on downloading and keeping all of your data stored on this social platform. https://www.facebook.com/help/212802592074644?helpref=faq_content
Now, after you’ve saved everything you wanted to save, you can start with the account deleting.
- Sign in to your Facebook account
- Tap on “Settings and Privacy”
- Choose “Settings” > “Your Facebook information – Account Ownership and Control”
- Click on “Deactivation & Deletion”
- “Permanently Delete Account” > “Delete Account”
That’s it. You might be prompted to enter your password to confirm the deletion, and afterward, you are free. You no longer have a Facebook account.
Delete Facebook using the Facebook app
If you have the Facebook app downloaded on your iPhone, you can delete your account through the app. Here is how. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/facebook/id284882215
- Go to “Settings & Privacy”
- Choose “Settings” > “Account Ownership and Control”
- Tap on “Deactivation and Deletion”
- Choose “Delete Account”
Again, you might be prompted to enter your account password to confirm the deletion. After successful confirmation, your Facebook account will be permanently deleted! Good job!
If you have installed Facebook Messenger as well, you will not be able to keep using Messenger after erasing your Facebook account.
Deactivate your Facebook account
If you are not sure whether you want to permanently delete your Facebook account or not, you can always try to deactivate it first. In case of deactivation, your account will stop being visible to others, but all of your information will remain saved. In case you decide to come back one day, you will be able to activate your account again and continue as if deactivation never happened. Follow the steps below for deactivation.
- Launch Facebook app
- Go to “Settings & Privacy” > “Settings”
- Swipe down until you see “Account Ownership and Control”
- Choose “Deactivation and Deletion” > “Deactivation”
- Confirm the deactivation
You might be prompted to enter your password, and afterward, your Facebook account will be deactivated. As mentioned previously, in case you wish to come back to Facebook, all of your data will be saved. Simply go back to the Facebook app or Facebook website and sign in. You will see everything the same as you left it, and your friends will be able to communicate with you again and tag you to posts.
In case you want to get rid of Facebook completely, do not forget to erase the Facebook app from your iPhone. Make sure to delete your account first, since erasing the app itself won’t erase the account automatically!
If you have any comments regarding the Facebook account and the deletion process, please leave a comment in the section below!