You can’t delete your Instagram account before you delete your Threads account. Adam Mosseri, CEO of Instagram, wrote on Thursday that Meta is “looking into” a way to stop that. Threads, Meta’s new rival to Twitter, uses Instagram’s account system. You can use your Instagram name the first time you open the app, which is a good thing. But because Instagram and Threads are linked, you can’t delete Instagram without also deleting Threads. You might not want to do this if you’ve been posting on Instagram for a long time.
You can use your Instagram account to sign in to Threads, even though it’s a different app. After you do this, these two will always be linked. The extra privacy rule from Meta says that you need to delete everything on Instagram first, then you can delete your Threads profile. This note was found by TechCrunch. In the policy, it says, “You can turn off your Threads profile at any time, but you can only delete your Threads profile by deleting your Instagram account.”
Your Threads account will still work after you log out of Instagram, but you can’t really delete it. The menu is next to your picture in the upper right corner. Click on it to log out. If you tap on Account, you’ll see an option that says “Deactivate profile.” After that, they will ask you to confirm this. In the same way that you can go back and activate an account on other Meta social networks, you can always do that here too.
If you’re done with Instagram for good, you’ll also need to delete your account. It’s not clear why these two things are connected. It’s probably so Threads can use the two billion Instagram users worldwide. You should still be able to delete your Instagram account but keep your Threads account. Since it’s still early, a lot of people will sign up to see if the service works for them. It’s getting even worse.
You can use your Instagram account to sign in to Threads, even though it’s a different app. After you do this, these two will always be linked. The extra privacy rule from Meta says that you need to delete everything on Instagram first, then you can delete your Threads profile.
This note was found by TechCrunch. In the policy, it says, “You can turn off your Threads profile at any time, but you can only delete your Threads profile by deleting your Instagram account.”
Table of Contents
Manually delete all your content
Do you not want everyone to see your old posts? Click the three dots in the upper right corner and delete them all. No one else will be able to see it because it won’t be linked to anything. Also, don’t forget to delete all of your followers. Also, make sure that there is no private information in your bio.
Take your profile private
To hide your profile, you don’t need to do all that work by hand. You can still delete the posts that other people see. After that, you can get rid of all of your followers or keep your list with just your closest friends.
Click OK after going to Privacy > Private Profile. In your history, press the “Menu” button.
Deactivate your profile to say goodbye for good (for now)
You need to delete your Threads account if you don’t want to be seen at all. Even though this deletes your data, you can still find it on Meta’s servers. It won’t be visible to everyone, at least. No one will be able to find your profile or tag you in conversations after this. You can always get back to your account by logging in again. After a while, when Threads lets you delete your profile for good, you can kill it again. To deactivate, go to Account > Deactivate Profile > Deactivate Threads profile after pressing the “Menu” button on your profile.
If you are ready to nuke your Instagram profile too
If you’re sick of Meta, you can delete her from your Instagram account. After that, the company will have to delete all of your information from its servers and from the public view.
Go to Settings > Accounts Center > Personal Details > Account Ownership and Control > Deactivation or Deletion to delete or turn off your Instagram account. Pick out the account you want to get rid of, click “Delete Account,” and then click “Continue.”
Go to Instagram’s website and follow the steps here to delete your account.
But, as Mosseri says, you can hide your profile and content on Threads by making your account public again. Go to your profile, click on the gear icon with two lines, select “Account,” click “Deactivate profile,” and then click the “Deactivate Threads profile” button. A Threads profile can be turned off, but only for a short time.
Instagram’s help page says that deactivating your profile and any threads, replies, and likes will hide it. Your account will be live again when you log back in. Mosseri also says that you can hide your account or delete certain posts. Apple and Google users can now get the new Ingram Threads app, which came out on Wednesday. Mark Zuckerberg says that over 30 million people have already signed up for the app.
It looks like the company rushed to get the app out the door because Twitter is so busy right now. It’s a big deal that you can’t get direct messages, tags, or a feed of people who follow you. Many of the “basics” are on their way, says Mosseri in a different post. But the changes will “take time.”