Back To Top

 How to Deactivate Messenger Without Also Deleting Facebook

How to Deactivate Messenger Without Also Deleting Facebook

How to deactivate messenger? What is the procedure for deactivating or deleting Facebook Messenger? It’s complicated, especially because cancelling your Facebook account does not automatically deactivate or erase Facebook Messenger.

delete facebook messenger

How to Deactivate messenger

Now we’ll show you how to turn off Messenger. It’s easy to turn off Messenger. If your Messenger account is linked to your Facebook account, however, you must first cancel your Facebook account.

The steps for deactivating Messenger are the same for both iOS and Android:

  1. Open Messenger; 
  2. In the top left corner, click on your profile; 3.
  3. Select Account Settings from the menu.
  4. Determine who owns and controls the account.
  5. Select Deactivation and Delete from the drop-down menu;
  6. Select Deactivate account from the drop-down menu, then touch Continue to account deactivation and follow the on-screen steps. Keep in mind that disconnecting Messenger will also cancel your Facebook account, as you can’t deactivate Messenger without also deactivating Facebook.

Let’s see how to deactivate Messenger now that you’ve removed Facebook:

  1. Open Messenger; 
  2. In the top left corner, click on your profile; 
  3. Select Legal & Policies from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select Deactivate Messenger and follow the on-screen instructions.

Log in with your username and password to reactivate Facebook Messenger.

Because Messenger is independent from Facebook, deactivating your Facebook account will not automatically cancel your Messenger account.

So, what happens if you turn off Messenger? Your profile will not appear in Facebook Messenger’s search results if you deactivate it. Your messages and comments, however, will remain public.

So, what happens to communications after you deactivate Facebook and Messenger? All of your messages, however, will remain visible to others. You can activate the vanish mode by swiping up while in a discussion if you wish the texts to disappear after a particular amount of time.

Is it possible to delete Messenger without also deleting Facebook?

No, if your Messenger account is linked to your Facebook account, you won’t be able to do so.

If you’re using a standalone version of the app that isn’t linked to your Facebook account, you can either deactivate your Messenger account or delete the app by following the steps outlined above.

To remove a Messenger account that isn’t linked to your Facebook account, follow these steps:

  1. Tap Account Settings; 
  2. Tap your profile image in the top left.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Delete Your Account and Information;
  4. Tap Submit after entering your password.

delete facebook messenger

Is it possible to turn off Messenger without also turning off Facebook?

If you’re wondering why you can’t deactivate Messenger, it’s probably because you haven’t deactivated your Facebook account yet. You can’t keep your Facebook account while deactivating Messenger on Facebook. The only way to turn off your chat would be to hide your status and disable alerts.

What is the best way to turn off Facebook Messenger?

  1. In the top left corner, click on your profile image.
  2. Select Active Status from the menu.
  3. Toggle your Active Status on or off using the toggle at the top of the screen.
  4. You’ll be marked as inactive from now on. You may also turn off notifications by going to Notifications and Sounds in the Settings menu.
  5. Set the status to Do Not Disturb.

How can you get rid of your Messenger account?

Let’s look at how to delete your account now that you’ve understood how to deactivate Messenger. To totally remove your Facebook Messenger account on iPhone or Android, follow these steps:

  • Tap Account Settings; 
  • Tap your profile image in the top left.
  • Decide who owns and controls the account.
  • Select Deactivation and Delete from the drop-down menu.
  • Tap Continue to account deactivation, then select Delete account and follow the on-screen instructions. Please bear in mind that deleting your Facebook account will also delete all of your Facebook and Messenger material.

You won’t be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content you’ve added to Facebook once the deletion process starts. You can, however, download your photographs and posts before cancelling your account.

Choosing to remove Facebook Messenger is an excellent first step toward safeguarding your online privacy. If you use any other sites, though, it’s worth looking over our social media privacy guidelines to see how else you can protect your online social life and learn about other social media privacy issues.

Alternatives to Facebook Messenger

If you need solid privacy and good functionality, Signal is a wonderful solution. SMS, video calls, group calls, file sharing, and ephemeral messages are all available. Furthermore, Signal employs strong encryption techniques, does not keep your data, and is open-sourced, allowing the community to examine its code on a regular basis; Wickr is another secure messaging software. It deletes your data on its own, so you can be confident it’s not saved. You can also register without providing your phone number or email address. Telegram is clearly a superior privacy solution, albeit it is not as user-friendly as many other programs. Despite its shortcomings, the app is still preferable to Messenger. It offers encryption, vanishing communications, and an easy-to-use UI. The latter, however, is not enabled by default, so make sure to enable it. It’s also not open-source, meaning its code isn’t open to public scrutiny.

We strongly advise you to utilise a VPN regardless of which messaging app you use. It will encrypt all of your data, allowing you to converse safely and secretly at all times.

Why should you uninstall Facebook Messenger?

Is Facebook Messenger a secure platform? Not at all. Facebook Messenger stores your personal information in the same way that Facebook does, and it can persist even if you cancel your Facebook account. Here are a few more reasons to uninstall Facebook Messenger:

Facebook has a history of big data leaks and breaches, so your information is definitely not safe with them.

delete facebook messenger

But, facebook makes money by harvesting user data, and the Cambridge Analytica controversy has sunk the company’s stock price and made people concerned about their privacy; Facebook Messenger is not private. Because it tracks your behaviour, lacks a default encryption option, and doesn’t encrypt your previous talks, it scores low on our secure messaging app list. Messenger’s source code isn’t open for independent scrutiny, and its security architecture isn’t fully documented; it also has access to your camera, microphone, and contacts.

There are also a slew of more privacy-focused instant chat programmes to choose from.

Also Read: 

How to Know My Wifi Password: On Windows, Laptop: Android Phone

How to Change Wifi Password: What Happens If You Forgot Password

Let us Know How to Take Screenshots in Laptop From Windows to Mac

Guide for How to Cancel Youtube Tv Using Android, iPhone, Computer

FAQs:

Q1: Why can’t I turn off Messenger?

Messenger is a service, not an app. You can’t turn off services on your phone. Only by deleting Messenger from your phone will you be able to stop using it. Then, on your phone, uninstall it.

Q2: Is it possible to turn off Messenger without uninstalling it?

There’s no way to turn off Messenger without also turning off your Facebook account. Deactivating your account is not the same as deleting it. You can reinstate your account at any time after it has been deactivated by simply logging in.

Q3: How do I turn off Messenger on my iPhone?

Tap your profile image in the top left corner after opening your chats. Tap Legal and Policies, then Deactivate Messenger from this screen. To complete the process, tap Deactivate.

Q4: How can I tell if my Messenger account has been deactivated?

They haven’t blocked you—they’ve deactivated their account. If you get “This Content Isn’t Available Right Now” (or something similar) instead of their profile photo in Messenger, they haven’t blocked you—they’ve deactivated their account (or it was deleted by Facebook).

 

Jennie Marquez

Jennie Marquez

Jennie B. Marquez is a TV presenter, writer, and video producer. Also, Khaleesi, despite the fact that she does not legally control any land, army, or dragons. Yet.
Prev Post

How to Know My Wifi Password: On Windows, Laptop: Android Phone

Next Post

How to Transfer Data from Android to iPhone Using Significant Ways

post-bars

Leave a Comment